Week 5 day 2

Ok, so this may not be a daily thing… Just felt like posting again today. 🙂

Went to TPU today. It was ok, we got inspected then all the preggos piled into the preggo coordinator’s office. He told everyone to go home… except me. 😦 LOL No problem, I have indoc. It was so boring! I walk in to the middle of CMC talking, he’s one of the big dogs if you don’t know, and he doesn’t like that. Ah well, he finishes and then a string of other people come in and talk about things we already know. Boring. Well I get done there and realize, Juan left a couple hours ago in our only car (he stayed in the parking lot until he had to leave for work just in case I got out early). So now I have to take the trolley. After doing a tiny bit of research on wearing the new working uniform on public transportation, I walk to the trolley station and begin the hour long ride to Juan’s job. Boring. LOL. So I finally get there and I take the car to come home. I walk in the door to my good little doggies still in their enclosure…

LIES! I got close enough to the baby-gate to see that they peed ALL OVER THE FLOOR! And Roxy pooped. Gah. So I put them out side, round the corner and see trash all over the kitchen, dining room and living room. Bubba actually jumped over the gate, got into the trash, and jumped back in. WTH! I get to the living room and a pair of my sleeping pants (which were upstairs on the floor) are in the middle of the living room with a steaming pile of poo on top. Jerk.

I know he’s acting out because he thinks I hate him. We put up the baby gates and bought a dog bed before I even knew I was pregnant, but once we knew, we figured it was a good thing he would learn not to sleep in the bed. One thing I have wanted since I started TTC is to breastfeed exclusively for the first 6 months. Meaning the first 3, I want the baby in the bed or in a co-sleeper bassinet. That way the baby is close by and it will minimize the awake time. So once we found out, I thought, “good, if he learns now, he won’t think it’s because of the baby.” One problem, JUAN thinks it’s ok to let him into the room when he gets home at night. So I wake up to a stinky dog fart and have to be the bad guy and put him back. AND I have to carry the little monster because he won’t listen to me. UGH! Fine. Whatever. Boo.

Unsolicited advice. Well, I should start by saying I come from a huge family. My Mom is one of 10 and my dad is one of 5. I should also add that a long time ago (almost 3 years now) I joined a support group of sorts for women who were trying to conceive. There are about 19 of us that are active in the group, only 1 girl is left still waiting for a baby (You’re next A.L.!) So with every new pregnancy, we learn something new. They all share and discuss things that are going on and we all learn new techniques and new approaches. One last thing, I’ve done my research on the parenting style I want to go with. I appreciate everyone wanting to help me do the right thing. But the right thing for you doesn’t mean it’s the right thing for me.

So just to be clear, partial attachment parenting is what we are doing. Obviously, I can’t stay home, but as long as we can help it, the baby won’t be with strangers alone. We’re not going to use bottles unless absolutely necessary (I’m at work) so no one is feeding the baby but us. YES the baby is sleeping my bed for a little while. That’s where I want my child. Yes, we will have a crib for nap times and, after the 3 month mark, all the time. I’ve done the leg work, for almost 3 1/2 years now. Do I think we’re fully prepared, HELL NO! But, I think we’re going to be doing what’s best for us. So while I know you are all trying to be helpful, please respect the choices we are making.

Speaking of choices, I will not be using drugs for birth. No interventions whatsoever. If you watch the business of being born, you’ll see why. I refuse to have my baby ripped from me and given God knows what. A good chunk of births that were intervened with, end in an “emergency c-section.” I’m a woman and giving birth is what I was built to do. I’m sorry if you don’t have faith in me, I’m sorry if you couldn’t do it. It’s not that I think any less of you, it’s just not what I want for me. Please don’t take offense. As for that crap of “if it comes out healthy who cares how it got here” bull. I want every moment of this miracle to be special. That includes it’s birth. 🙂 I want to be able to move around, I want the baby to latch correctly and I don’t want the complications that come with “speeding things up.”

So that’s my rant. I’ve said it before, don’t get butt hurt if you think I’m talking about you. It’s nothing personal, you’re basically reading my journal.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rachel
    Feb 13, 2010 @ 15:26:02

    Cool!! I didnt realize we were so much alike! You will do great Jasmine! This is just the beginning of all that unsolicited advice! But you are one up because you know better, and you know what you want! =)

    Reply

  2. jmoran818
    Feb 14, 2010 @ 11:00:32

    I wanted to do a water birth but I have to do whatever the military offers. BOO. You think they would buy it if I said I just forgot to go to the hospital because I was swimming?

    Reply

  3. Connie
    Feb 14, 2010 @ 11:05:28

    Rachel is right, this is just the beginning of the “advice”. If you want to go all natural, do it! You can. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. And don’t let them tell you that you’re putting the baby in danger, you’re crazy, you’re gonna want the epi. Just because they did, doesn’t mean you should.

    Reply

  4. Sandra
    Feb 14, 2010 @ 14:45:09

    To add to unsolicited advice … 🙂 not too long ago here in San Antonio an infant died in the parents bed. Mom fell asleep and if I remember right suffocated because the mom was on top or something. Really I’m not giving advice just what happened.

    Reply

  5. a_cabrera
    Feb 14, 2010 @ 19:12:53

    do what u think is right. everyone has their own way in giving birth. if all natural is what u wanna do…go for it.

    Reply

  6. Sandra
    Feb 14, 2010 @ 21:26:40

    BTW … I still get unsolicited advice. LOL I just nod and say okay. LOL I don’t take it though. You and the rest of the kids turned out okay. ❤ you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

