Week 5 day 6… ER Scare

TMI ALERT!!TMI ALERT!!TMI ALERT!!TMI ALERT!!TMI ALERT!!

TMI ALERT!!TMI ALERT!!TMI ALERT!!TMI ALERT!!TMI ALERT!!

Just got home from the ER after 11 hours.

I went to the bathroom and there was a LOT of bright red blood. I didn’t have any cramping so I didn’t panic. I just put on a panty liner and lay down. I got up and wiped again, just a little bit that time. So I lay down for about 30 more minutes and had to pee. When I pulled down my underwear there was a LOT of dark red blood and some clots. I told Juan to get me the number to Balboa Hospital and told them what was happening. They said to come in.

After a tear-filled ride to the emergency room and what felt like an eternity. I waited for about 4 hours in the waiting room before I got blood drawn. Right before that Juan had to go to work, rather I made him go to work. We have a baby on the way and he can’t miss any work. I called Stacey to come sit with me and she did (You’re the best ever!) I got into a bed waited another 2 hours for the bed side ultrasound. They couldn’t find the yolk sac in the gestational sac, the doc thought that was ok. Well another doc told her it wasn’t so they ordered a formal ultrasound. After another hour and a half, and an oh so fun ride on my gurney, they told me I have a subchorionic hematoma. The [resident] OBGYN said there is a chance that I could still miscarry, but I found some info on the internet. 🙂

  • There is no known cause for an SCH but many researchers speculate that during egg implantation, the egg slightly separates or tears from the uterus causing a bleed. There is nothing a woman did or could have done to cause or prevent them.
  • Most clots resolve on their own by 20 weeks of pregnancy. The clot either bleeds itself out or the body absorbs it.
  • SCH is a risk early in pregnancy because the clot itself can cause a miscarriage. The clot can release completely from the uterus and cause the fetus and placenta to miscarry.
  • The incidence of subchorionic hemorrhage (subchorionic hematoma) is 1.3% of all pregnancies. In pregnant patients with first-trimester vaginal bleeding, the incidence increases to almost 20%.
  • A spontaneous abortion rate of 9.3% in patients with first-trimester vaginal bleeding who had a live fetus and subchorionic hematoma.

I had to follow up with sick call this morning (that makes perfect sense “We need you on bed rest, but we need you to walk alot before we’ll give it to you.”) but sick call actually surprised me. My paperwork was taken straight back, they gave me more bed rest than the ER wanted me to have (they only wanted one day, S/c gave me 2) then they ordered the right blood test (ER didn’t even check). I was on and off the base in less than an hour.

So now, I’m on my couch. I have my puppies at my feet, my lap top and the remote to the TV. My little area of the house until Thursday when I follow up. The little pumpkin seed is ok, and as long as I’m super careful, it should stay that way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

