Total freakout!

Most of you may know, I don’t do well in big swarms of people. Usually, I can pump myself up if I know it’s coming (Disneyland, concerts, fairs) but if I don’t know or it’s worse than anticipated, it’s bad. Well Friday was one of those nights…

We got tickets from a friend to a free concert with Katy Perry, Sugarland, Nicki Minaj and more. I figured, standing room only= crowd. Well I was right and I was fine. Until people started trying to get closer. The ‘pit’ was way in front of us (with the stage) and they were starting to let people in. Well of course, everyone behind us starts to push. Which again, I was okay with. I just found little pockets to stand in and kept my distance. When the concert finally started, people were getting rude. People were constantly trying to get to the front so other people were standing their ground and not letting people through. Well Pancho went to get a beer and when he came back, people weren’t letting him through. He finally made it through, but at that point I had had it. There were way too many people touching me and breathing on me for me to be okay anymore. I told him that after the next song, I wanted out.

When we turned to leave it was horrible getting out of the crowd. No one wanted to move and the panic started to set in. I didn’t know if I would make it out, I thought someone would elbow me in the stomach and all sorts of irrational thoughts were filling my head. Then we got stuck. We couldn’t move forward and there was no way in hell we were going back. I told Pancho “don’t stop moving!” He looked at me and said, “I’m stuck!” The lady in front of him then said rudely, “we’re all stuck!” That was it. “Baby I NEED to get OUT!” The woman took one look at me and yelled, “she’s gonna freak out! Move!” Too late. I freaked. “Baby please get me out of here!” I started hyperventalating and I put my face in my hand. I felt him pull me and we got out pretty quick. When we were outside of the crowd he grabbed my by the shoulders and asked if I was okay. I think I said something about them touching me through the sobs and he just hugged me.

I finally calmed down enough to ask my friends where they were. I only stayed a little bit longer. My feet and back were killiing me. I did watch the show on TV on Sunday. I liked it better on my flat screen.

Leave a Reply

