Plans

I think I’m going to try to post every day. Let’s see…

Plans
Birth-In case you didn’t get it from my last rant, I’m having a waterbirth. Mom thinks I’m a hippy, but I can’t wait! Is that weird, that I’m not scared to give birth? Whatever, it is going to be amazing and an empowering experience. I know I can do it and no horror story has scared me yet. I hate hospitals and doctors, especially military medical, so this is awesome.
Feeding- I want to breastfeed. For three reasons. 1) breast is best. Period. Yes, babies will always do just fine on formula, but fine isn’t good enough for me. 2) uterus shrinkage=belly shrinkage. Heck yes. 3) because I’m lazy. It is so much easier to pull up your shirt than it is to make a bottle. Lol.
Carseat- we’re using a Graco my ride 65. We plan on keeping baby rear facing until 40lbs, then in the carseat until s/he outgrows the seat. No, I don’t want an infant seat. I don’t plan on carrying my baby in it, so a carseat that will last longer is a better idea.
Diapering- we’re using cloth diapers. It’s cheaper in the long run and better for the environment.

Like I said, these are plans. Nothing is set in stone, shit changes all the time. I would hope, my friends and family could be supportive. We’ll see. I can already hear “just wait…” “you’ll give up…” Well save it. It’s only going to piss me off.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lifewithscottzachary
    Jan 16, 2011 @ 08:23:37

    People said that to me when they found out I was cloth diapering. I got a lot of “yeah, let’s see how long that lasts” comments. Almost 19 months and no intention of stopping! People can be so dumb. Like it is really that hard to do a load of laundry?

    Reply

  2. Jessica Oliver Brock
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 09:13:46

    LOVE this! I wanted…errr…want a water-birth too. Plus I am all for breastfeeding and kinda quasi-against formula. That’s how you connect with your baby. 🙂 Love the cloth diapers too!

    I am sooo freaking happy for you. Yay!!

    Love ya. I’ll email soon, lol.

    Reply

    • Jasmine
      Mar 01, 2011 @ 14:42:39

      WANT is right! No past tense from you Missy! I’m partially against formula… BUT I know there are instances where mom tried her damndest to make it work and just couldn’t breastfeed. Or the ones with preemie babies and they can’t pump enough. That makes me sad. I’m glad we have formula for mommies like that. I know I’m gonna catch crap for saying I don’t like formula (even moreso if I’m one of those above mentioned mommies!) but I think breastfeeding is one of the first and best things you can do for your child!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

